Skip to main content
Back to blog
12 September 2026

Fresha vs Booksy vs Treatwell vs Fade (2026)

A plain comparison for salon and barber owners evaluating Booksy, Treatwell, Fresha, and Fade — cost model, client ownership, loyalty, and when each platform fits.

If you already know Treatwell or Fresha, you are probably weighing two different bets: marketplace discovery that brings new faces through the door, versus software that keeps every booking and loyalty point inside your shop. Treatwell and Fresha sell reach — they list your salon beside competitors and take a cut when the marketplace sends a first-time client. Fade sells salon-owned booking, map visibility, chat, QR check-in, and per-salon loyalty with no booking commission. Pick marketplace reach when new-client volume from a large network is your priority; pick Fade when the client relationship, repeat visits, and zero commission on bookings matter more.

Comparison at a glance

Comparison
FadeTreatwellFreshaBooksy
Discovery modelSalon map + direct booking (not a marketplace)Marketplace + salon softwareMarketplace + salon software suiteConsumer marketplace app + salon subscription
New-client marketplace feeNone — no booking commission35% on first marketplace booking (UK partner page; market-dependent)20% one-time on marketplace new clients + minimum fee (varies by country)£0 on standard plan; optional Boost 30% (UK, 11 June 2026)
Repeat / direct bookingsNo commission0% on direct, repeats, social Book NowNo marketplace commission on returning or own-channel bookingsNo extra new-client fee on the standard plan
Loyalty ownershipPer-salon points — not a shared poolPlatform-led promotions; salon profile on marketplaceLoyalty, deals, gift cards (Fresha feature list)Not stated on Booksy’s Fresha comparison page
QR / check-inYes — points at the chairNot a core Treatwell point in this comparisonCheck-in via app; QR not highlighted like FadeNot stated on Booksy’s Fresha comparison page
Best forSmall teams, owned client base, zero booking commissionEuropean marketplace demandBroad software + optional marketplace growthSalons whose clients already use the Booksy app

Sources: Fade — getfadeapp.com/for-salons. Treatwell — treatwell.co.uk/partners/pricing/. Fresha — fresha.com/pricing. Booksy — biz.booksy.com/en-gb/comparison/fresha-comparison (as of 11/06/2026). Re-check competitor fees on publish day; they vary by country.

How the cost models differ

Treatwell’s partner pricing page (UK) states a 35% commission on first bookings made by new clients the marketplace introduces, plus 0% on repeat bookings and bookings you drive yourself (calls, walk-ins, your website, social “Book Now” buttons). Online prepayments carry a 2.5% processing fee plus VAT. That means one marketplace new client on a €40 cut could mean roughly €14 in commission on that first visit alone — illustrative only, before VAT and local rates.

Fresha’s pricing page lists a 20% one-time commission on brand-new clients who discover you via the Fresha marketplace, with a stated minimum fee per new client (shown as $6 on their US pricing table; currency and minimums differ by market). Returning marketplace clients and bookings through your own links, Google, Facebook, or Instagram are free of that marketplace commission. Subscription is per bookable team member (e.g. $19.95/month for independent, $14.95 per team member on Team plans on the US page). Payment processing is separate if you use Fresha Payments.

Fade charges no commission on bookings. Starter is free for up to two stylists. Medium and Pro are paid monthly on the web; FADE3M applies to Pro where offered. You pay for the tier and features — not a percentage of each new haircut from a marketplace funnel.

Who owns the client?

On a marketplace, discovery often starts with search: clients compare salons, read reviews, and may rebook through the platform’s app. You gain exposure; the platform sits in the middle of acquisition. Loyalty and promotions are shaped by what the platform offers — useful, but not the same as a points ledger that lives only at your address.

Fade is built around salon-tied loyalty: points accrue per salon, redeem at the chair with QR check-in, and are not pooled across unrelated shops. Booking, chat, and map profile keep the relationship under your brand. That fits owners who already have foot traffic, Instagram, or word of mouth and want software that reinforces repeats — not owners whose main gap is cold traffic from a national marketplace.

Feature depth — honest trade-offs

Treatwell and Fresha are mature, broad salon platforms. Treatwell emphasises marketplace reach in Europe (their site cites partnerships with over 150,000 salons across Europe). Fresha bundles calendar, POS, marketing, memberships, and marketplace listing in one stack. If you need maximum third-party discovery or a full retail and payroll-style suite today, those ecosystems are hard to ignore.

Fade is sharper where the brief is lean: no booking commission, free Starter for very small teams, map + booking + chat + QR check-in + configurable loyalty per salon. Fade does not claim to match marketplace traffic volume — there is no public proof in our materials that Fade delivers the same new-client funnel as Treatwell or Fresha. Fade is registered in Germany; the team serves Serbia, Germany, Austria, and Switzerland, with a founder of Serbian origin — see getfadeapp.com/about for the full story.

When to choose Fade

  • You want zero commission on every booking, including clients you already know.
  • Loyalty should stay with your salon — points clients earn at your chair, not a cross-shop pool.
  • You are a small team (up to two stylists) and want Starter free while you grow.

When to choose Treatwell

  • New clients from a large European marketplace are your main growth lever.
  • You accept a first-booking commission in exchange for that discovery (0% on repeats per their pricing FAQ).
  • You want an established marketplace brand alongside calendar, POS, and review tools in one contract.

When to choose Fresha

  • You want a wide software suite (marketing, retail, memberships) with optional marketplace upsides.
  • Most bookings will be direct or returning, so the 20% one-time marketplace fee hits rarely.
  • Per-seat pricing and global tooling fit how you staff and scale multiple bookable team members.

When to choose Booksy

Choose Booksy if your clients already live in the Booksy consumer app and you want discovery through that marketplace more than a salon-owned loyalty ledger. Booksy’s own UK comparison with Fresha (11 June 2026) lists a monthly subscription and a £0 new-client fee on the standard plan, with optional Boost at 30%. Re-check those numbers on publish day: biz.booksy.com/en-gb/comparison/fresha-comparison.

Fade still fits when you want zero booking commission, points that stay with your salon, and a free Starter for up to two stylists — already on getfadeapp.com/for-salons.

Next step

Try Fade on the web: create your salon at getfadeapp.com/for-salons — Starter is free for up to two stylists, with Medium and Pro when you need more seats or featured placement. Use code FADE3M on the web subscription page where Pro trial is offered. Owners can also download the Fade app on iOS or Android to see the client booking experience. For positioning and press quotes, see getfadeapp.com/press.

Frequently asked questions

Does Fade charge commission on bookings?

No. Fade does not take a commission on bookings. Starter is free for up to two stylists; Medium and Pro are paid monthly tiers on the web. See getfadeapp.com/for-salons for current pricing.

Is Treatwell or Fresha cheaper?

It depends on how clients find you. Both charge no marketplace commission on repeat or direct bookings, but Treatwell and Fresha charge a one-time fee on many first bookings from their marketplaces (Treatwell cites 35% on UK partner pricing; Fresha cites 20% with a minimum fee, market-dependent). If most clients come from the marketplace, those fees can exceed a fixed monthly plan. If most clients book direct, subscription plus payment processing is the main cost.

Can I keep loyalty if I leave a marketplace?

On a marketplace, loyalty is typically tied to the platform’s discovery layer — points or perks may not transfer if you stop listing or if clients book elsewhere on the network. On Fade, loyalty points stay with each salon: your program, your clients, redeemed at the chair via QR check-in.

Is Fade free for small salons?

Yes. Fade Starter is free for up to two stylists and includes booking, map profile, chat, QR check-in, and per-salon loyalty. Medium and Pro add staff limits and featured placement; FADE3M offers three months free on Pro on the web where available.

Try fade for your salon

Online booking, salon-owned loyalty, and QR check-in — free for up to 2 stylists.